Drake's Chapel is located in a serene oak grove originally used by settlers on their travels west.  Pioneers would camp for two to six weeks by the stream, refreshing soul and body before continuing on their way.
   The first building used for religious services was a brush arbor erected between 1830 and 1840.  In 1853 a permanent structure was constructed on 32 acres of land donated by Judge David R. and Catherine Drake.  That building had a clapboard roof, a floor of oak lumber, split logs for seats and candles for light.      
   Preachers were Methodist circuit riders.  The current building was erected in 1884, using new and salvaged materials from the original building.
   For nearly 182 years, since its beginning, people have found faith through the witness of Drake's Chapel United Methodist Church.  We are fortunate to have such a rich heritage, and ancestors who gave their time, talents and funds to establish this church.

                       May God continue to bless our ministry as we strive to spiritually uplift.

Drake's Chapel United Methodist Church
   About Us   -  History